Featured Guest Speakers

Image of students meeting with guest speaker

Featured Guest Speakers

At the Carsey School of Public Policy we connect our students with policy practitioners. The following practitioners met with our students during the annual trip to Washington, DC in January 2017 or spoke in our classes during the Fall 2016 Semester.

  • Steve Abbot
    Chief of Staff
    Senator Susan Collins (R-ME)
  • Heather Boushey
    Executive Director
    Washington Center for Equitable Growth
  • Michael Campbell
    President and CEO, Arch Chemicals Inc.
    Chairman, National Association of Manufacturers

  • Alex DeMots
    Senior Vice President and the General Counsel
    Center for American Progress
  • David DiMartino
    Blue Engine Message and Media
  • David Dixon
    Dixon Davis Media Group
  • Bob Drogin
    Deputy Bureau Chief and National Security Editor, Washington Bureau
    Los Angeles Times
    Author of “Curveball”
  • Jeffrey Edmonds
    Director of Russia
    National Security Council Staff
    The White House
  • Chris Edwards
    Director, Tax Policy Studies
    Cato Institute
  • Phil Ellis
    Deputy Assistant Director of Health, Retirement & Long Term Care
    Congressional Budget Office
  • Jennifer Erickson
    Assistant Director of Innovation for Growth,
    White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Laura Favinger
    SVP, Head of Government and Industry Affairs
    Zurich, North America
  • Nathan Fenstermacher
    Managing Director of National Security and International Policy
    Center for American Progress
  • Joe Firishein
    Deputy Associate Director and Community Affairs Officer
    Federal Reserve
  • Kate Gordon
    Vice Chair of Climate and Sustainable Urbanization
    Paulson Institute
  • Jennifer Granholm
    Chair, American Jobs Project
    Senior Contributor, CNN
    Governor of Michigan from 2003 to 2011
    Attorney General of Michigan from 1999 to 2003

  • Chye-Ching Huang
    Senior Tax Policy Analyst
    Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
  • John Jones
    Chief of Staff
    U.S. Congressman Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO)
    National Security Director, U.S. Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY)

  • Angela Maria Kelly
    Executive Director
    Center for American Progress Action Fund
  • Annie Kuster
    U.S. Representative (D-NH)
  • Andrew Light
    Distinguished Senior Fellow
    World Resources Institute
    Senior Advisor and India Counselor to the U.S. Special Envoy on Climate Change, Secretary of State’s Office of Planning Policy (Obama)

  • Holger Mahnicke
    Director of the Department of Culture and Communications
    German Embassy to the United States
    German Ambassador to Cameroon

  • Stewart Matthews
    First Secretary and Head of Administration
    Northern Ireland Bureau
  • Brian McCabe
    Managing Partner
    DCI Group
  • Mike Mitchell
    Senior Policy Analyst
    Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
  • Ken Monahan
    Director, International Trade Policy
    National Association of Manufacturers
  • Ann O’Leary
    Co-Director, Clinton-Kaine Transition
    Senior Policy Advisor, Hillary For America
    Legislative Director, Senator Hillary Clinton
    Special Assistant to President Bill Clinton
    Senior Policy Advisor, US Department of Education

  • Andrea Purse
    Communications Director
    The Hub Project
  • Ilia Rodriguez
    Senior Vice President
    The Daschle Group
  • Ken Salazar
    50th United States Secretary of the Interior, 2009-2013
    United States Senator (D-CO)

  • John Samples
    Vice President
    Cato Institute
  • Bill Samuel
    Government Affairs Director
  • Alyssa Shooshan
    AVP, Member and Board Relations
    National Association of Manufacturers
    Chief of Staff, Senator Judd Gregg (R-NH)

  • Zakiya Smith
    Strategy Director
    Lumina Foundation
    Senior Advisor for Education, White House Domestic Policy Council (Obama)

  • Crystal L. Tully
    Legislative Assistant
    Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
    Office of Sen. Roger Wicker, (R-MS)
  • Alan Viard
    Principal Tax Policy Expert
    American Enterprise Institute
    Senior Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
    Senior Economist, White House Council of Economic Advisors

  • Sarah Wartell
    Urban Institute
    Deputy Assistant to the President for Economic Policy and Deputy Director of the National Economic Council

  • Amanda Wood
    Director, Employment Policy
    National Association of Manufacturers
  • Tom Worrall
    Witmer and Worrall
    SVP, The Rhoads Group
    Director of Team 100, Republican National 


Image of Sarah

Academic Partnership Coordinator:
Sarah Dorner